The Whistle: Legends & Lore of Steamboat Springs, CO.
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas has begun a tradition. Our guests and visitors will be able to hear a whistle each day in the early evening on Saddles Deck. This whistle represents how Steamboat got its name in the mid-1800’s. Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas will select an owner or guest each day to commodore the whistle.
The whistle will blow at 5pm daily. We have partnered with the Tread of Pioneers Museum to help us select the many stories Steamboat has to tell. A representative sharing our story might be a local historian, current former or past Steamboat Olympian, or an informed associate from the resort staff.
Please join us as we celebrate the rich history and bright future of our beloved town.
Legend has it that French trappers, traveling through the area around 1865, approached the Yampa River and heard a “chug-chug” sound that they thought was a paddle wheel steamer. They excitedly called out, “A steamboat, a steamboat!” Hurrying on, they found that the sound was coming from a mineral spring. The rhythmic chugging led the three French trappers to name the site, Steamboat Springs. This unique spring spouted water several feet into the Colorado sky and out over the Yampa River. By 1870 the few people passing through the area referred to the location by that name.
The first settlers to the area were the James H. Crawford family in 1875. Shortly after his arrival, town founder, James H. Crawford officially named the town Steamboat Springs. The town was incorporated in 1900 and became the county seat of Routt County in 1911.
The spring is located on the western end of town across from the Depot. Construction of the railroad in 1908 silenced the sound of the Steamboat Spring, but the name remains.
Tread of Pioneer Museum
800 Oak Street
Steamboat Springs, CO